Sunday, September 26, 2010

Ruminations

Aaron Karo, eat your heart out.
So I've been here for a little over a day now (although most of it was spent at the airport and taking a shuttle to campus) and here are some things I've noticed:
- Not only do people drive on the left side, they walk on the left side. So when you walk through a doorway or something and are about to bump into someone you usually make a quick move to the right, but here people make the move to the left and so there have been a couple occasions where I've bumped into people or had to make another move right to avoid them. So now I make moves to the left and it's fine.
- There are so many accents here not just British. I notice this especially since I'm considered an international student and am meeting a lot of international students where English in not their first language (but many have it as their second very fluent language).
- If people wear a baseball cap it's a Yankees cap, I don't understand why. Also my building manager is a Yankees fan and I was wearing my Red Sox cap the first day. That was a rough start.
- You are allowed to drink in public here or at least on campus. At this campus party last night people would buy drinks at the bar and then proceed outside and people were sitting on the grass outside and on the sidewalks. Interesting experience for me. The furthest I've gone before is on a patio, which was allowed to have alcohol.